Monday, April 16, 2018

Swami Aseemanand, 4 others acquitted in 2007 Mecca Masjid blast case

Swami Aseemanand, 4 others acquitted in
2007 Mecca Masjid blast case

Hyderabad: A National Investigation Agency (NIA) Special Court at Nampally in Hyderabad on Monday, 16th April 2018, acquitted five accused, including Nabha Kumar Sarkar alias Swami Aseemanand, in the case of the bomb attack on the Mecca Masjid 11 years ago for lack of evidence.

The blast, using an improvised explosive device, killed nine persons inside the masjid near the historic Charminar of Old City.

The others acquitted are Devendra Gupta, Lokesh Sharma, Bharath Mohan Lal Rateshwar and Rajendra Choundary.

The NIA had originally charged 10 persons with plotting and carrying out the attack on May 18, 2007.

Accused Sunil Joshi of Madhya Pradesh, a former Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) pracharak, was murdered when the case was investigated.

Two other accused, former RSS pracharak Sandeep V. Dange and RSS activist and electrician Ramchandra Kalsangra, also from Madhya Pradesh, have been eluding the investigators.

Investigations against two others from the same State, Tejram Parmar and Amith Chowhan, are continuing.

The verdict was pronounced amidst tight security around the Nampally Courts Complex. where all the accused were present.

Police restricted the movement on roads leading to the court. Vehicles were directed to be parked more than a kilometre away from the court hall.

Earlier, mediapersons staged a sit-in outside the court’s gates after being restricted by police from entering the complex.

No comments: