Monday, March 25, 2019

Sorry brother, take it back, We have no candidates!

Sorry brother, take it back, We have no candidates!

Bengaluru: The Congress announced on Monday, 25th March 2019 morning that its alliance partner Janata Dal (Secular) had given up its claim on the Bengaluru North Lok Sabha constituency and that the national party would field a candidate from there for the upcoming general elections.

Confirming this, Congress general secretary in-charge of the state KC Venugopal tweeted: “@INCIndia is thankful to Shri H D Deve Gowda ji and the JD(S) for their kind gesture of giving back the Bengaluru North Lok Sabha seat to the Congress. Together, let us reclaim democracy.”

The constituency was one of eight that the JD(S) was set to contest as part of the seat-sharing agreement that the two parties had reached. Leaders from the constituency — seven of the eight assembly segments in the constituency were won by the Congress and JD(S) in 2018 — had repeatedly requested former prime minister HD Deve Gowda to contest from there.

However, he decided on Saturday to contest from the Tumakuru seat. As a result, a senior Congress leader from the constituency said the party had to rethink.

“A series of meetings had been held between the seven MLAs (five from the Congress and two from the JD-S) and the unanimous choice was Deve Gowda. No other name had been discussed,” the Congress leader said.

A close aide of former chief minister Siddaramaiah said that the party was now likely to pick former MP BL Shankar to contest as the coalition candidate against union minister DV Sadananda Gowda. Shankar has never won an assembly election and managed only one win in Lok Sabha elections in 1996.

In Chikkamagalure- Udupi Constituency too, JD(S) after lack of candidates asked Pramod Malpe Madhwaraj  of Congress, son of  former Congress Minister Manorama Madhwaraj  contest as a candidate of both Janatadal and Congress but with symbol of JD(S) aganst BJP candidate Shobha Karandlaje.  

Similarly, In Uttara Kannada and Vijayapura Constituencies, after failing to findout it’s own candidates, JD(S) asked to Congressmen Prashanth Deshapande  and Shivaraj Tangadagi as joint candidate in JD(S) Symbol respectively.

Because of these developments, Congress which left 8 seats to JD(S) now left with fielding it’s own candidates but with JD(S) symbols in it’s own constituencies in 4 constituencies. In remaining 4 constituencies 3 members of HD Devegowda family are contesting in 3 constituencies.

No comments: