Friday, December 26, 2014

Raghuvar Das will be the new Chief Minister of Jharkhand

Raghuvar Das will be the new Chief Minister of  Jharkhand

Ranchi:  Newly elected BJP Legislature Party leader Raghuvar Das staked claim to form the new government in Jharkhand on Friday, 25th December 2014, three days after the BJP-AJSU party alliance won a majority in the assembly election.

Accompanied by several MLAs of the alliance partners, Das met with Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the next government.

AJSU party chief Sudesh Mahto, who lost the elections, was also part of the delegation.

“We met the Governor and staked claim to form the government. We suggested December 28 (for the swearing—in ceremony), and he agreed,” Mr. Das told after the meeting with the Governor.

BJP’s Saryu Roy, C P Singh and party’s state unit president Ravindra Rai were among the leaders who accompanied Das in the meeting.

This will be the tenth government in 14 years of Jharkhand’s creation. The state has witnessed three elections.

Raghuvar Das, national vice-president of the BJP will be the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand. Earlier he was elected the leader of the BJP Legislature Party in the meeting of newly elected legislators of party.

BJP observer J.P. Nadda said after the legislature party meeting that Mr. Das’ name was proposed by Sarayu Roy, another frontrunner for the post and C.P. Singh and supported by all the party MLAs.

Mr. Das is also a former Deputy Chief Minister of the State.

Former Chief Minister Arjun Munda said Mr. Das will stake claim to form the BJP-AJSU alliance government.

The BJP-AJSU alliance had won absolute majority in the recent Assembly polls bagging 42 out of the total 81 seats.

No comments: