Sunday, June 17, 2018

Non-NDA Chief Ministers Take Kejriwal's Complaint to PM Modi

Non-NDA Chief Ministers Take Kejriwal's 
Complaint to PM Modi

New Delhi: A day after coming out in support of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who has been sitting on a dharna in L-G Anil Baijal’s office, four chief ministers — Mamata Banerjee, Chandrababu Naidu, HD Kumaraswamy and Pinarayi Vijayan — urged Prime Minister Narendra Modi for an “immediate resolution” to the deadlock.

The four chief ministers met Modi on the sidelines of a crucial NITI Aayog meet in the capital on Sunday 17th June 2018..

"I along with the Hon'ble CMs of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Kerala have requested Hon'ble PM today to resolve the problems of Delhi government immediately (sic)," Banerjee tweeted after meeting with Modi.

The four chief ministers were denied a meeting with Baijal on Saturday , 16th June 2018 evening and had announced that they would raise the issue with the Prime Minister. The leaders had termed the situation "unconstitutional" and said the PM should make sure that the problem gets resolved.

The open support to Kejriwal by the four regional heavyweights — from the Trinamool Congress, Telugu Desam Party, Janata Dal (Secular) and Communist Party of India (Marxist) — comes amid opposition efforts to cobble together a rainbow coalition ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Kejriwal, his deputy Manish Sisodia and ministers Satyendar Jain and Gopal Rai have stayed put at the L-G office since Monday demanding that Baijal direct IAS officers to end what AAP described as their "strike" and approve doorstep ration delivery scheme.

Banerjee also supported Naidu on the issue of 2011 Census being adopted by 15th Finance Commission in the NITI Aayog Governing Council meeting and requested not to penalise the performing states.

Protest March: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is planning a protest march to PM Narendra Modi’s residence at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg as the impasse between the Arvind Kejriwal government L-G Anil Baijal entered the seventh day on Sunday 17th June 2018.

The Delhi Police have denied permission for the protest march, but the party says it will go ahead with the ‘non-violent’ procession, which will begin from Mandi House. Entry and exit at five Delhi Metro stations — Lok Kalyan Marg, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan and Janpath — will be closed till further orders in view of the protest march.

 Prakash Raj support:
Joining other leaders in support of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, actor Prakash Raj hit out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi over his recent fitness challenge and asked him to spare a moment, take a deep breath and "instruct bureaucrats to work with Kejriwal".

No comments: