Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Modi’s new team begins work

Modi’s new team begins work
New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who made reshuffle of his cabinet on Tuesday, 5th July 2016 inducting 19 new faces including including BJP leaders S S Ahluwalia, M J Akbar and Vijay Goel, and Ramesh Jigajinagi from Karnataka while elevating Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar in the second expansion of his government ahead of political battles in Uttar Pradesh and other states.

Modi changed the portfolios in the night in which Anantha Kumar and DV Sadananda Gowda from Karnataka were given the portfolios of Parliamentary Affairs and Statistics and Programme Implimentation respectively. New comer Jigjinagi was given drinking water and sanitation department.

Here is the new portfolio list:

Smriti Irani has now been given Textiles Ministry.
Ananth Kumar is the new Parliamentary Affairs minister
Santosh Kumar Gangwar given Finance department
Faggan Singh Kulaste given health and family welfare.

Hansraj Gangaram given Home affairs
Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi given drinking water and sanitation department
Anupriya Patel gets Health and family welfare.
Ajay Tamta given textiles department.
Jayant Sinha given Civil aviation
Arjun Ram Meghwal given finance, corporate affairs.
Ramdas Athawale given social justice and empowerment department. 
MJ Akbar given External affairs.
SS Aluhwalia given agriculture and farmers welfare, parliamentary affairs department.
Sports ministry given to Vijay Goel.Sadananda Gowda given Statistics and Programme implementation.
RS Prasad given Law and Justice department

Five ministers of state were dropped in the second exercise undertaken by Modi in a little more than two years since he took over in May, 2014 which saw a number of dalit and OBC leaders being given ministerial positions apparently with an eye on assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand next year and Gujarat later.

Javadekar, who held independent charge of Environment, was the lone minister to be promoted to the cabinet rank while all new inductees took oath as Ministers of State. Earlier, there was speculation that Power Minister Piyush Goel and Commerce Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will be elevated to the Cabinet.

Ajay Tamta (Uttarakhand), Arjun Ram Meghwal (Rajasthan), Krishna Raj (UP), Athawale (Maharashtra), Ramesh C Jigajinagi (Karnataka) were among the dalit MPs administered the oath of Office and Secrecy by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan attended by Vice-President Hamid Ansari, Modi, his cabinet colleagues, BJP President Amit Shah and leaders allied parties among others. No Congress leader was present.

Others who were inducted included P P Chaudhary, C R Chaudhary (Rajasthan), A M Dave, Faggan Singh Kulaste (Madhya Pradesh), Mahendra Nath Pandey (UP), Purshotam Rupala, J Bhabhor and Mansukhbhai Mandaviya (Gujarat), Rajen Gohain (Assam) and S R Bhamre (Maharashtra).

No comments: